#4 - Cycles

Ending and begginings

This post was originally published in December 28th, 2023 on my now deceased Substack blog

  1. Hiya :3

  2. Leaving Substack

  3. Byee

Hiya :3

Hi! For those who had holidays, I hope you enjoyed them, and in the case that you haven’t had one, I hope you do get to enjoy a break soon. The new year aproaches, and with it lots of promising things I hope to be able to share in the months to come. Some of those mean I’ll have more stability and that also means more time to cultivate the online spaces for sharing my work and work process, which hasn’t been happening much because half of my time during this last semester has been trying to find work for the next month, month after month, and that’s always tiring. I know I do have a long promised live stream to make - and I do have all these professional streaming tools awaiting for me to use them, I just don’t have…a lot of energy for it right now. Bare with me, it’ll happen eventually.But heck, I’m very proud of myself for starting this thing here and finding the time to put some words in motion finally, and I’m hoping that leads to even more in 2024. I’m enjoying writing again and that’s huge for me.Another thing is I also want to start writing for other artists and, in the process, learning to let go of controlling the whole thing so much. I have ideas again and I’m excited about them. And I’m not a machine so I can’t draw all of them, so I’m looking forward to some collaborations happening.

That said, amidst things that have to change:

Leaving Substack

This will be my last post on Substack. I’ve been hearing about the platform being sketchy in some ways for a while but didn’t really went through the trouble of searching why myself (and yes that’s entirely on me), and now that I know and I think it’s pretty gross what’s happening here, I’m leaving as soon as I decide on a substitute. I don’t think I can endorse a platform that thinks that hate content is freedom of speech and that willingly won’t moderate it nor demonetize it. In case you want to know more, there’s a lot of writing about it out there, all I’ll say is it makes no sense for me to stick around.I already have some names I’m considering, but if you have any suggestions on nice newsletter/blogging platforms, let me know in the comments section for this post. I’d love for this post to be literally a link to out of here, like a final fuck you or something like that. All paid subscribers will continue to be subs to whatever system I change to, and in the case that I decide to pay for the new service, know your money will have contributed to that and for this blog to continue to exist. I feel like this one was a nice warm up, my engines are ready to start the next year in full motion power (whatever that means).

Byee

That’s literally it for this one. I have a post about my writing process that will be the first coming up in the new service soon (probably first week of January), and I hope it turns out to be a better choice on my end. For now, I thank all of you who are subscribed to this, I hope my silly words’ been worth your time so far, and hope it keeps happening in the future to come.

Happy New Year!
GG

Reply

or to participate.